Profile

Donated wigs for sale and hire. New wigs for sale - a network has been set up throughout the UK

Mission

My name is Agnes Lennox and I was diagnosed with breast cancer on 30 January 2003 - a date that I will never forget. Agnes Lennox Picture For me, the worst part of all the treatment was losing my hair during chemotherapy. To buy a new wig costs a lot of money - even an NHS prescription is expensive, so I decided to set up a Wig Bank to help others.

People donate their no longer needed wigs to me and I wash, condition, disinfect and sell them for between £10 and £20 , donating £5 from each sale to Maggie's Cancer Caring Centre, who were such a help to me during my treatment. I post them out on a sale or return basis to people who cannot come to the Wig Bank (send/email me a picture or photograph of what you would like). I also hire out wigs for £5, donating £2 from each hire to Maggie's.

Brand new wigs have recently been sourced direct from the manufacturer and they are sold for £40, compared to at least 3 times that amount in the normal shops.

So if you or someone you know would like to donate or buy a wig, contact me at the Wig Bank. Anyone can buy a wig, whether they are going through chemotherapy, have alopecia, or just want to wear a wig to ring the changes.

A network of Wig Banks has now been set up throughout the UK, so there should be one near you, each with the same philosophy. Each person running their Wig Bank donates to their own special charity and we are in regular contact, so one of us should be able to meet your needs.

Phil Goodlad of BBC Radio Scotland recently presented a review of the Wig Bank on his programme Action Scotland.
To listen to this review click here

To read the full story about the setting up of the wig bank click here

To view a selection of new wigs click here

To view a selection of donated wigs click here


Related Links:

Maggie's Cancer Caring Centres
Mihealth Web based cancer patient information system
Scottish Breast Cancer Campaign
A tribute to Alyson Dermody


Wig Bank Contact Details:

Elizabeth Cameron
7 Beaumont House
15 St John's Place

Perth,
Perthshire
PH1 5SZ Click for map.
Tel: 07831 763062
Email: agnes@wigbank.com


With deep sorrow, we confirm that Agnes Lennox has

Passed away, a great loss - God only takes the best

Agnes's Legacy - Wigbank will continue

- Elizabeth Lennox - Agnes's sister


Lily De Beer
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire
Tel: 01242 244 288
Email: lily@wigbank.com

Ynez Buckfield
Constantine
Falmouth
Tel: 01326 340 527
Email: ynez@wigbank.com

Dawn Scourfield
Graigwen
Pontypridd
Tel: 0784 093 7574
Email dawn@wigbank.com

Elaine Georgiou
Hull & East Riding Wigbank
Tel: 01482 221368 ( Tues-Thur)
Email: elaine@wigbank.com

Emma Hall

Emma Hall Hair Design
19 Haddington Place,Top of Leith Walk
Edinburgh
Tel: 0131 557 4888
Email emma@wigbank.com

Amanda Aird

Clydebank
Glasgow
Tel: 0741 1029 646
Email amanda@wigbank.com

Jill Ellison

Wigbank Services
North Yorkshire
Tel: 01748 826 372
Email jill@wigbank.com

Tracy Harper

Lincolnshire Wig Bank
Barnabas Day Therapy Centre
Tel: 01522 518219
Email tracy@wigbank.com


Contact Information

Address:

Wig Bank
Elizabeth Cameron
7 Beaumont House
15 St John's Place

Perth,
Perthshire
PH1 5SZ Click for map.
Tel:UK 07831 763062
/ Overseas: +44 7831 763062

Email Address: info@wigbank.com


Created 6:17PM, Mon, 14th Jul 2007
Copyright © 2007 Wig Bank